2012Top.png
US_CO_E_EM_1693_Maingraphic_April2016.png

In This Issue
What's New
» WEnergy Global uses
   @RISK for ROI


Case Study
» KSU Utilizes @RISK
   to Aid in Biosecurity
   for Beef Cattle


@RISK Modeling Tips
» Travel Expenses with
   RiskCollect


Upcoming Webinars


In This Issue
rss-feed-icon.png e-mail.png fb.png LinkedIn.png twitter.png

2016 Palisade Risk Conferences
An intensive day of networking, software training presented by Palisade trainers and consultants, and real-world case studies presented by industry experts. Join us at an event near you. More dates to come for 2016.
 
EMEA & India
» Bangalore: 19 April
» New Delhi: 21 April
» Munich: 9 June
» Amsterdam: 14 June
» Edinburgh: 22 September
» Moscow: 6 October
» Abu Dhabi: 17 October
» Cape Town: 3 November

Regional Seminars Asia-Pacific
Melbourne: 19-20 April
Melbourne: 21 April
Perth: 27-28 April
Adelaide: 10-11 May

Brazil
São Paulo: 5-6 de abril

EMEA
Amsterdam: 12-14 April
London: 19-21 April
Sandton: May 17-19
London: May 24-26
London: July 12-14

Latin America
Medellin, Colombia:
11 al 13 de abril
México, DF:
26 al 28 de abril

North America
New York, NY: April 6
Vancouver, BC: April 19-21
Seattle, WA: 17-19 May
Houston, TX: 7-9 June


Trial Versions
Palisade software is available
in fully functional trial versions.
Try @RISK or any of our
software today!


The DecisionTools Suite
The complete risk and
decision analysis toolkit

» English
» Español
» Português
» Deutsch
» Français
» РУССКИЙ
» 日本語版
» 中文版

@RISK
Risk analysis software using Monte Carlo simulation for Excel and Project

BigPicture
Mind Mapping and Data Exploration for Excel

PrecisionTree
Visual decision analysis
for spreadsheets

NeuralTools
Sophisticated neural networks for spreadsheets

StatTools
Advanced statistical analysis for spreadsheets

Evolver
The Innovative Optimizer
for Windows


The DecisionTools Suite

Building renewable energy systems across multiple countries and currencies:
WEnergy Global uses @RISK for ROI

WEnergy Global designs, procures and builds power plants, such as solar PV, biomass, small hydro power and wind in Singapore and other ASEAN countries, India, and Sri Lanka. WEnergy Global was considering the pros and cons of moving forward with a 25-year term renewable energy project over multiple geographies, which required a thorough financial feasibility and scenario analysis. The project had two very visible complexities that presented significant risks on revenue and return on investment: Revenue Variability and Currency Exchange Rate Volatility.

WEnergy Global turned to Palisade's @RISK to determine whether or not the probability of risk on revenue and ROI warranted moving forward or rejecting the project. Ashish Chawla, Manager of Investment Structuring and Operations of WEnergy Global chose @RISK and was very familiar with the solution. “I learned about the software during my MBA studies, and it took our professor less than 30 minutes to explain how to use the software,” said Chawla.

The most challenging aspect of the analysis was capturing the impact of variable inputs in a single output distribution which involved multi-variable analysis. @RISK allowed WEnergy Global to move beyond traditional scenario analysis (best and worst case, for example) and employ a more sophisticated approach of probabilistic scenario analysis. The most obvious and immediate impact was the time and resources saved in making the analysis.

Chawla said that @RISK was “instrumental in helping to analyze the probability of risks and their bearing on project’s IRR.” As a result, WEnergy Global decided to pursue the multimillion dollar project, which commenced in June 2015.

“@RISK simulation software has been very helpful in performing rigorous financial analysis of our projects,” said S.A. Ramsundersingh, CEO of WEnergy Global. “It has not only given us great perspectives on our projects' analysis, but has also enabled us to introduce complexities in performing feasibility studies leading to important investment decisions. @RISK is a great tool for saving time, resources and energy in making critical management decisions.”

» Read the detailed case study

Case Study
KSU Utilizes @RISK to Aid
in Biosecurity for Beef Cattle

In the beef industry, biosecurity is too often neglected. Beef producers commonly import new animals into their herds, but don’t take measures to decrease risk of disease introduction. Reproductive disease is an important cause of lost production and economic return to beef cow-calf producers, causing estimated losses of $400 to $500 million dollars per year. Because of the complex nature of the production system, the biologically and economically optimal interventions to control disease risk are not always clear.

Dr. Michael Sanderson, a professor of Beef Production and Epidemiology at Kansas State University’s (KSU) College of Veterinary Medicine, addressed this issue by developing a risk management tool for veterinarians and beef cow-calf producers to assist in identifying biologically and economically valuable biosecurity practices, using @RISK.

The project modelled the risk of introduction of the infectious disease Bovine Viral Diarrhea (BVD) into the herd, the impact of disease on the herd (morbidity, mortality, abortion, culling, lost weight) and economic control costs.

As a result of the risk identification insight gained from the research, Dr. Sanderson and his team were able to improve disease management and controls-primarily by identifying management practices that affect the probability of disease introduction and production, as well as strategies that would lower biological and economic risk over a ten-year planning horizon.

» Read the full case study

Product Spotlight
Travel Expenses with RiskCollect
This model tracks travel expenses for a business person over a month. On each working day, the person either makes a trip (probability 0.4) or doesn't (probability 0.6). On trip days, there is uncertainty about the miles traveled, the speed (miles per hour), the gas mileage (miles per gallon), and the gas price (dollars per gallon). These are generated in a straightforward way. The outputs are the total cost of all trips and the total hours driven on all trips.

» Download the example model
» More about @RISK

Upcoming_Webcasts

New topic: Final Four Analysis, a model featuring @RISK
(Part 2 of the 2016 NCAA Webinar Series)

Presenter: Steve Hunt, Palisade Corporation and
Andrew Pulvermacher, Nighthawk Intelligence

31 March - 11am EDT / 8am PDT / 3pm GMT » Register Now

Introduction to Risk and Decision Analysis
using @RISK and The DecisionTools Suite

05 April - 1pm EDT / 10am PDT / 6pm BST » Register Now
07 April - 10am BST / 11am CEST » Register Now
10 May - 2pm EDT / 11am PDT » Register Now

Introduction to BigPicture
Presenter: Michelle Jackson and
Robin Holloway, Palisade Corporation

06 April - 10am EDT / 2pm GMT / 3pm BST » Register Now

New topic: Integrating Renewables with
Electricity Storage with @RISK

Presenter: Roy L. Nersesian
21 April - 11am EDT / 8am PDT / 4pm BST » Register Now

Oil and Gas Applications of @RISK and the DecisionTools Suite
Presenter: Doug Oldfield, Palisade Corporation
09 June - 10am BST / 11am CEST / 5am EDT » Register Now

» See complete Webinar schedule


Palisade
The Global Leader in Risk
and Decision Analysis

Palisade Corporation is the world's leading provider of risk and decision analysis software and solutions. Founded in 1984, its products @RISK and the DecisionTools Suite are used by over 95% of the Fortune 100, in nearly every industry around the world. Palisade is headquartered in New York State, and has offices in London, Sydney, Rio de Janeiro, and Tokyo.

 
Palisade Corporation

Live Chat
©2016 Palisade Corporation, visit www.palisade.com
Contact Us{{lead.Palisade Office Sales Email:default=sales@palisade.com}}