全球领先的风险与决策分析软件
@RISK 和 DecisionTools Suite 的制造商
ENGLISH I ESPAÑOL I PORTUGUÉS I FRANÇAIS I DEUTSCH I 日本語 I 中文 I РУССКИЙ
案例研究
ECN 使用 @RISK 以确定离岸风电场的经济可行性

能源研究机构 ECN 正在使用 Palisade 的风险分析软件 @RISK 从运营和维护的角度,确定离岸风电场的经济可行性。其中与岸上同等设备相比,涡轮机需要经受更加严峻的天气条件,加上它们所处的位置,使维修和维护需要消耗更多的时间和金钱。在落实项目前,运营商希望先了解目前业界无法避免的长期关停所造成的成本影响。

背景
ECN 是一家总部位于荷兰的独立研究机构,提供为转用可再生能源管理的深入知识和技术。他们关注节约能源、可再生能源和高效清洁地使用化石燃料,正着手实施各种太阳能、风能和生物质能项目。

ECN 是少数致力于离岸运营和维护 (O&M) 领域相关研发的机构之一,他们从 2003 年 4 月开始为离岸风力发电机开发 ECN O&M 工具。 由于离岸风电场比较少见,因此导致其成本仍存在大量的不确定性。同时,由于其重要性与日俱增,因此也需加快工作以提升其经济可行性。

长期关停的财政风险
潜在的运营方希望先了解离岸风电场在经济上是否可行。其关键问题是离岸运营商必须面对的更恶劣的天气条件,例如更快的风速和更高的雷击风险。这些条件造成的维修和关停都会造成成本影响,在任何计算中都必须将其纳为考量因素。

例如,如果岸上涡轮机故障,其关停可能会是一或两天,因为要前往它们所处位置以进行维修,甚至安排吊车辅助都相对容易。与此相反,如果离岸涡轮机故障,便需要安排适合的船只和团队才能够进行检查。高昂的成本使得水上起重机并不常见,因此,一旦决定使用水上起重机,便可能需要等候它花费六个月的时间从世界其他地方驶至现场。除关停造成的机会成本外,运营商还需要支付 15 万欧元作为水上起重机驶至风电场的费用,另外,还要为与行驶费用相当的日租做好准备。

如果海况严峻致使检查团队难以到达故障涡轮机,关停也将相应延长,成本也随之而攀升。此外,要维修涡轮机,就需要有良好的天气条件,因为大风会损坏新的组件。

使用 @RISK 确定成本不确定性
离岸风电场仍处于起步状态,仍需要大量的开发工作才能找出替代的运营方法。例如,与使用船只相比,使用直升机进行涡轮机损坏评估可能会更有效率,在这种情况下,风电场运营商需要与直升机公司签订合约。

ECN 与其客户致力于研究各种各样的“假设”方案,以求确定最可行(如成本效益)的风电场维护方法。选出最佳的方案后,ECN 便使用 @RISK 模型进行概率分析,以确定所选方法的成本不确定性。

@RISK 确定关停和 O&M 成本中的不确定性
涡轮机故障频率是一个关键参数(@RISK 模型的输入项),它取决于组件的可靠性。虽然在某些情况下 ECN O&M 工具能够处理多达 40 个,但风电场运营商假设在大多数情况下只有 15-20 个涡轮机组件(各自拥有不同的故障频率和维修策略)。

大多数的现场数据都可以用于确定组件的故障频率,但由于该行业仍处于起步阶段,因此存在着历史记录信息缺乏的不足。即使有数据可用,成本建模工具中使用的故障率仍难以确定。这包括水上起重机和调查船的价格(因应季节而不同,甚至每天都会发生变化)、后备部件的成本、电价,以及部件和船只交收周期。

@RISK 帮助制定明智的决策
将输入项数据输入至累积密度函数 (CDF) 中的 @RISK 模型结果。此分布确定与离岸风电场关停和维护成本有关的不确定性,让项目开发人员能够制定明智的决策,首先要确定项目是否应该继续,如果应该继续,则需要确定最佳的实施方法。测量不确定性也有助于提高项目的经济可行性 - 银行不喜欢风险,尤其不喜欢未知的风险。

@RISK 模型的另一个结果是龙卷风图,它能够显示出哪一个输入项对输出项造成的影响最大。例如,它能够指出调用大型船只以进行维修和维护是成本不确定性中最重要的因素。有鉴于此,运营商可以与船只供应商进行商讨,支付较高的固定费用以建立长期合作关系,而不应选择成本可能会比长期合作要高的临时租用方式。

@RISK 模型还可用于确定人工成本对项目的影响,一个经常引起大量讨论的问题。但使用 @RISK 后,ECN 证实相对于普遍观点,这不会对最终维修成本造成重大影响。因此,@RISK 能够重新定义哪些方面在初期会耗费大量的成本。

@RISK 改善组件管理
另外,@RISK 为运营商提供了一个工具,用于帮助管理故障率较高并会对风电场盈利性造成重大影响的组件。使用 @RISK 模型中特定的计算以评估故障造成的影响,帮助开发人员与组件制造商就更优惠的保修协议进行商讨。

@RISK 使 ROI 计算简单明了
“任何商业项目中都必然存在着风险和不确定性,而在替代能源等新兴行业中其情况更是难以估计,”ECN 风能系统开发高级经理 Luc Rademakers 解释道,“但是,@RISK 模型能够处理大量的数据,然后以清晰易懂的方式显示出来,使投资风险量化变得更简单。因此,风电场开发人员以及潜在投资方,能够就离岸运营是否能够提供优质的投资回报而制定明智的决策。”

» @RISK
» ECN




Palisade Corporation
130 East Seneca Street
Suite 505
Ithaca, NY 14850
800 432 RISK (US/Can)
+1 607 277 8000
+1 607 277 8001 fax
sales@palisade.com
Palisade EMEA & India
+44 1895 425050 salesEMEA@palisade.com
salesIndia@palisade.com
Palisade Asia-Pacific
+61 2 9252 5922
salesAP@palisade.com
Palisade アジア・
パシフィック東京事務所
+81 3 5456 5287 tel
sales.jp@palisade.com
www.palisade.com/jp/
Palisade Latinoamérica
+1 607 277 8000 x318
+54-1152528795  Argentina
+56-25813492 Chile
+507-8365675 Panamá
+52 55 5350 2852 México
+511-7086781 Perú
+57-15085187 Colombia
servicioalcliente@palisade.com
ventas@palisade.com
www.palisade-lta.com
Palisade Brasil
+55 (21) 3958 1443
+1 607 277 8000 x318 tel
vendas@palisade.com
www.palisade-br.com

Customers & Industries: ECN

ECN uses @RISK to determine the economic feasibility of offshore wind farms

  • Industry: Utilities
  • Product(s): @RISK
  • Application: Financial analysis of offshore wind farms

Summary

Palisade’s risk analysis software @RISK is being used by energy research organisation, ECN, to determine whether offshore windfarms are financially viable from an operation and maintenance perspective. In particular, the turbines are subjected to more severe weather conditions than those faced by their onshore equivalents which, coupled with their location, makes repair and maintenance time-consuming and expensive. Before progressing with a project, operators want to understand the cost implications of the long downtimes that are currently unavoidable in the industry.

The @RISK model can handle vast amounts of data and present it in a way that is easy to understand, thereby making it straightforward to quantify the risk associated with a venture. Wind farm developers – and their potential investors – can therefore make informed decisions about whether an offshore operation will offer a good return on investment.
Luc Rademakers, Senior Manager, Wind Energy Systems Development, ECN

Background

ECN is an independent research organisation based in the Netherlands that provides in-depth knowledge and technology to enable the transition to sustainable energy management. Its focus is on energy conservation, sustainable energy and the efficient and clean use of fossil fuels, which sees it undertake solar, wind and biomass projects.

One of the very few institutes to carry out R&D in the field of offshore operation and maintenance (O&M), ECN began to develop the ECN O&M Tool for offshore wind turbines in 2003/4. Offshore wind farms were still rare, which resulted in a lot of uncertainly about costings. At the same time, as they began to be more of a necessity, efforts increased to make them more financially viable.

The financial risk of long downtimes

Potential operators wanted to understand whether offshore wind farms were financially viable. A key issue was the more adverse weather conditions such as higher wind speeds and the increased risk of being struck by lightning faced by offshore operators. These had financial implications in terms of repair and downtime, which needed to be factored in to any calculations.

For example, if an onshore turbine fails, it is likely to be out of action for one or two days, as its location means that it is relatively straightforward to inspect and repair, even if this requires a crane. In contrast, a failed offshore turbine requires an inspection by a crew in suitable vessels. There are very few crane ships in operation, due to the prohibitive costs, so if it is decided one is required, there may be a six-month wait while it crosses the world. In addition to the opportunity cost of this downtime, the operator can be charged up to €150,000 for the crane ship to travel to the wind farm and day rates may be in the same order of magnitude.

Further delays – with knock-on effects on costs – can occur if sea conditions are too rough for the inspection crew to travel to the failed turbine. Good weather conditions are also required to repair the turbine as high winds can damage the new component.

Determining cost uncertainties with @RISK

Since the early days of offshore wind farms, there has been a significant amount of development work resulting in alternative ways of operating. For example, assessing damage to a turbine may be more effective using a helicopter rather than a boat, in which case the wind farm operator needs to look at contracts with helicopter companies.

ECN works with its clients doing ‘what if’ scenarios to determine the most feasible (ie cost-effective) method of maintaining their wind farms. Having selected the option that works best, ECN then undertakes probabilistic analysis with an @RISK model to determine the cost uncertainties of this method.

@RISK determines uncertainties in downtime and O&M costs

A key parameter (input to the @RISK model) is the failure frequencies of the turbines, based on the reliability of the components. In most cases, the wind farm operator considers 15-20 wind turbine components (with each having a different failure frequency and repair strategy) although on some occasions, the ECN O&M Tool will handle as many as 40.

Field data is generally used to determine the failure frequencies of components, but the nascent nature of the industry means there is a shortage of historical information available. Even when data is available, the failure rates used in the cost modelling tool are subject to uncertainties. These include the prices of crane ships and access vessels (which may vary per season and even from day-to-day), the cost of spare parts, and the electricity price, as well as the lead times of spares and vessels.

@RISK enables informed decision-making

Feeding the input data into the @RISK model results in Cumulative Density Functions (CDF). This distribution determines the uncertainty associated with the downtime and maintenance costs of an offshore wind farm in order that a project developer can make an informed decision, firstly as to whether to proceed with the project and then, if this affirmative, the best way to do so. Measuring the uncertainty also helps to make the project more viable in terms of financing - banks don’t like risk, in particular when it is unknown.

Another result from the @RISK model is that the Tornado diagram shows which input has the most effect on the output. It might indicate, for example, that the mobilisation of large vessels for repairs and maintenance is the most significant factor in the cost uncertainty. Armed with this fact, the operator can negotiate a contract with the boat provider that sees it pay a higher fixed fee on an ongoing basis, rather than paying on an ad hoc basis, which is potentially more costly in the long term.

The @RISK model has also been useful for determining the effect that labour cost has on a project – an issue that often causes a great deal of discussion. Using @RISK ECN has shown that, contrary to popular belief, this does not have a major impact on the end repair costings. @RISK can therefore redefine what is initially considered to be costly.

@RISK improves component management

In addition, @RISK provides operators with a tool to help them manage the components that have higher failure rates, and therefore a major impact on the profitability of the wind farm. Using specific calculations from the @RISK model on the effect of a failure, a developer can negotiate more favourable warranty agreements with the manufacturer of the component.

@RISK enables straightforward ROI calculations

“Risk and uncertainty are an inherent part of any business project, but they are increased further in ‘new’ industries such as alternative energy,” explains Luc Rademakers, senior manager, wind energy systems development at ECN. “However, the @RISK model can handle vast amounts of data and present it in a way that is easy to understand, thereby making it straightforward to quantify the risk associated with a venture. Wind farm developers – and their potential investors – can therefore make informed decisions about whether an offshore operation will offer a good return on investment.”

Have Questions? Talk with us.

Contact Us