全球领先的风险与决策分析软件
@RISK 和 DecisionTools Suite 的制造商
ENGLISH I ESPAÑOL I PORTUGUÉS I FRANÇAIS I DEUTSCH I 日本語 I 中文 I РУССКИЙ
Live Chat
蒙特卡罗模拟
风险分析 风险分析是我们所做的每个决策的一部分。我们经常面临不确定性、不明确性和可变性。而且,即使我们可以对信息进行前所未有的访问,但我们仍无法准确预测未来。蒙特卡罗模拟允许您查看您做出的决策的所有可能结果并评估风险影响,从而在存在不确定因素的情况下做出更好的决策。

什么是蒙特卡罗模拟?
蒙特卡罗模拟是一种计算机化的数学方法,允许人们评估定量分析和决策制定过程中的风险。专业人员将此方法广泛应用于不同领域,如金融、项目管理、能源、制造、工程、研发、保险、石油和天然气、运输和环境。

蒙特卡罗模拟向决策者提供了采取任何措施可能产生的一系列可能结果和概率。它说明了最大可能性,即全力以赴和最保守决策的结果,以及折衷决策的所有可能后果。

此方法首先被科学家用于研究原子弹;它以因赌场而闻名遐迩的摩纳哥旅游城市蒙特卡罗命名。自从在二战中推出以来,蒙特卡罗模拟一直用于为不同的物理和概念系统建立模型。

蒙特卡罗模拟的工作原理
蒙特卡罗模拟通过替换值范围(概率分布)为具有内在不确定性的任何因素构建可能结果的模型,从而执行风险分析。然后重复计算结果,每次使用分布函数中的一组不同随机值。根据为随机值指定的不确定因素的数量和范围,蒙特卡罗模拟在完成之前可以进行成千上万次重新计算。蒙特卡罗模拟生成可能结果值的分布。

通过使用概率分布,变量可以具有所生成的不同结果的不同概率。概率分布是描述风险分析的变量中的不确定因素的一种更切合实际的方法。常用概率分布包括:

正态分布 — 或“钟形曲线”。用户只需定义平均值或预期值和标准差来描述平均值的变化。接近平均值的中间值最可能发生。此分布是对称的,并且描述许多自然现象,如人的身高。由正态分布描述的变量示例包括通货膨胀率和能源价格。

对数正态分布 — 值为正偏态分布,而非正态分布的对称分布。其用于表示不低于零但具有无限正可能性的值。对数正态分布描述的变量示例包括房地产价值、股票价格和石油储量。

均匀分布 — 所有值均具有相同的发生机会,而用户只需定义最小值和最大值。可以进行均匀分布的变量示例包括制造成本或新产品的未来销售收入。

三角分布 — 用户定义最小值、最可能值和最大值。最可能值周围的值最可能发生。可以通过三角分布进行描述的变量包括单位时间内的过去销售历史记录和库存水平。

PERT 分布 — 用户定义最小值、最可能值和最大值,与三角分布一样。最可能值周围的值最可能发生。但是,与三角分布相比,最可能值和极值之间的值更有可能发生;也就是说,不再强调极值。使用 PERT 分布的示例是在项目管理模型中描述任务的持续时间。

离散分布 — 用户定义可能发生的特定值和每个值发生的可能性。示例可以是诉讼结果:20% 的概率为正面裁决、30% 的概率为负面裁决、40% 的概率为和解,而 10% 的概率为无效审判。

在蒙特卡罗模拟过程中,从输入项概率分布中对值进行随机抽样。每组样本称为一次迭代,并记录样本所生成的结果。蒙特卡罗模拟进行数百次或数千次此类操作,并且结果是可能结果的概率分布。通过这种方式,蒙特卡罗模拟为可能发生的情况提供更为全面的意见。它不仅告知您可能发生的情况,并且告知结果的发生概率。

与确定性分析或“单点估计”分析相比,蒙特卡罗模拟提供许多优势:

  • 概率结果。结果不仅显示可能发生的情况,并且显示每个结果的发生概率。
  • 图形结果。 使用由蒙特卡罗模拟生成的数据,用户可以方便创建不同结果及其发生概率的图形。对于向其他利益相关方传达结果而言,这一点很重要。
  • 灵敏度分析。 仅在少数案例中,确定性分析难于查看哪些变量对结果的影响最大。在蒙特卡罗模拟中,用户可以方便查看哪些输入项对最终结果的影响最大。
  • 方案分析: 在确定性模型中,很难为不同输入项的不同的值组合建立模型,以查看真正不同的方案的影响。使用蒙特卡罗模拟,分析人员可以在某些结果发生时,准确查看哪些输入项将哪些值组合在一起。要完成进一步分析,这一点非常重要。
  • 输入项相关性。 在蒙特卡罗模拟中,可以为输入变量之间的相互依赖关系建立模型。事实上,当一些因素上升,而其他因素也相应上升或下降时,准确表示其变化方式很重要。

蒙特卡罗模拟的增强功能是使用拉丁超立方体法抽样,此功能从分布函数的整个范围内进行更准确的抽样。

Palisade 的蒙特卡罗模拟产品
针对个人计算机推出的电子表格应用程序为专业人员在日常分析工作中使用蒙特卡罗模拟提供了契机。Microsoft Excel 是主要的电子表格分析工具,而 Palisade 的 @RISK 是针对 Excel 的一流蒙特卡罗模拟插件。1987 年,为用于 DOS 的 Lotus 1-2-3 首次推出的 @RISK,其在计算准确性、模型建立灵活性和易于使用方面具有良好的声誉。Microsoft Project 的推出导致蒙特卡罗模拟的另一种逻辑应用,即分析大型项目管理中存在的不确定因素和风险。

» 了解有关风险分析的更多信 息

Palisade Corporation
798 Cascadilla Street
Ithaca, NY 14850-3239
800 432 RISK (US/Can)
+1 607 277 8000
+1 607 277 8001 fax
sales@palisade.com
Palisade EMEA & India
+44 1895 425050 salesEMEA@palisade.com
salesIndia@palisade.com
Palisade Asia-Pacific
+61 2 9252 5922
salesAP@palisade.com
Palisade アジア・
パシフィック東京事務所
+81 3 5456 5287 tel
sales.jp@palisade.com
www.palisade.com/jp/
Palisade Latinoamérica
+1 607 277 8000 x318
+54-1152528795  Argentina
+56-25813492 Chile
+507-8365675 Panamá
+52 55 5350 2852 México
+511-7086781 Perú
+57-15085187 Colombia
servicioalcliente@palisade.com
ventas@palisade.com
www.palisade-lta.com
Palisade Brasil
+55 (21) 3958 1443
+1 607 277 8000 x318 tel
vendas@palisade.com
www.palisade-br.com

Palisade
Live Chat
Monte Carlo Simulation

Risk analysis is part of every decision we make. We are constantly faced with uncertainty, ambiguity, and variability. And even though we have unprecedented access to information, we can’t accurately predict the future. Monte Carlo simulation (also known as the Monte Carlo Method) lets you see all the possible outcomes of your decisions and assess the impact of risk, allowing for better decision making under uncertainty.

What is Monte Carlo simulation?
Monte Carlo simulation is a computerized mathematical technique that allows people to account for risk in quantitative analysis and decision making. The technique is used by professionals in such widely disparate fields as finance, project management, energy, manufacturing, engineering, research and development, insurance, oil & gas, transportation, and the environment.

Monte Carlo simulation furnishes the decision-maker with a range of possible outcomes and the probabilities they will occur for any choice of action.. It shows the extreme possibilities—the outcomes of going for broke and for the most conservative decision—along with all possible consequences for middle-of-the-road decisions.

The technique was first used by scientists working on the atom bomb; it was named for Monte Carlo, the Monaco resort town renowned for its casinos. Since its introduction in World War II, Monte Carlo simulation has been used to model a variety of physical and conceptual systems.

How Monte Carlo simulation works
Monte Carlo simulation performs risk analysis by building models of possible results by substituting a range of values—a probability distribution—for any factor that has inherent uncertainty. It then calculates results over and over, each time using a different set of random values from the probability functions. Depending upon the number of uncertainties and the ranges specified for them, a Monte Carlo simulation could involve thousands or tens of thousands of recalculations before it is complete. Monte Carlo simulation produces distributions of possible outcome values.

By using probability distributions, variables can have different probabilities of different outcomes occurring.  Probability distributions are a much more realistic way of describing uncertainty in variables of a risk analysis.  Common probability distributions include:

Normal – Or “bell curve.”  The user simply defines the mean or expected value and a standard deviation to describe the variation about the mean.  Values in the middle near the mean are most likely to occur.  It is symmetric and describes many natural phenomena such as people’s heights.  Examples of variables described by normal distributions include inflation rates and energy prices.

Lognormal – Values are positively skewed, not symmetric like a normal distribution.  It is used to represent values that don’t go below zero but have unlimited positive potential.  Examples of variables described by lognormal distributions include real estate property values, stock prices, and oil reserves.

Uniform – All values have an equal chance of occurring, and the user simply defines the minimum and maximum.  Examples of variables that could be uniformly distributed include manufacturing costs or future sales revenues for a new product.

Triangular – The user defines the minimum, most likely, and maximum values.  Values around the most likely are more likely to occur.  Variables that could be described by a triangular distribution include past sales history per unit of time and inventory levels.

PERT- The user defines the minimum, most likely, and maximum values, just like the triangular distribution.  Values around the most likely are more likely to occur.  However values between the most likely and extremes are more likely to occur than the triangular; that is, the extremes are not as emphasized.  An example of the use of a PERT distribution is to describe the duration of a task in a project management model.

Discrete – The user defines specific values that may occur and the likelihood of each.  An example might be the results of a lawsuit: 20% chance of positive verdict, 30% change of negative verdict, 40% chance of settlement, and 10% chance of mistrial.

During a Monte Carlo simulation, values are sampled at random from the input probability distributions.  Each set of samples is called an iteration, and the resulting outcome from that sample is recorded.  Monte Carlo simulation does this hundreds or thousands of times, and the result is a probability distribution of possible outcomes.  In this way, Monte Carlo simulation provides a much more comprehensive view of what may happen.  It tells you not only what could happen, but how likely it is to happen.

Monte Carlo simulation provides a number of advantages over deterministic, or “single-point estimate” analysis:

  • Probabilistic Results. Results show not only what could happen, but how likely each outcome is.
  • Graphical Results. Because of the data a Monte Carlo simulation generates, it’s easy to create graphs of different outcomes and their chances of occurrence.  This is important for communicating findings to other stakeholders.
  • Sensitivity Analysis. With just a few cases, deterministic analysis makes it difficult to see which variables impact the outcome the most.  In Monte Carlo simulation, it’s easy to see which inputs had the biggest effect on bottom-line results.
  • Scenario Analysis: In deterministic models, it’s very difficult to model different combinations of values for different inputs to see the effects of truly different scenarios.  Using Monte Carlo simulation, analysts can see exactly which inputs had which values together when certain outcomes occurred.  This is invaluable for pursuing further analysis.
  • Correlation of Inputs. In Monte Carlo simulation, it’s possible to model interdependent relationships between input variables.  It’s important for accuracy to represent how, in reality, when some factors goes up, others go up or down accordingly.

An enhancement to Monte Carlo simulation is the use of Latin Hypercube sampling, which samples more accurately from the entire range of distribution functions.

Palisade Monte Carlo simulation products
The advent of spreadsheet applications for personal computers provided an opportunity for professionals to use Monte Carlo simulation in everyday analysis work. Microsoft Excel is the dominant spreadsheet analysis tool and Palisade’s @RISK is the leading Monte Carlo simulation add-in for Excel. First introduced for Lotus 1-2-3 for DOS in 1987, @RISK has a long-established reputation for computational accuracy, modeling flexibility, and ease of use. The introduction of Microsoft Project led to another logical application of Monte Carlo simulation—analyzing the uncertainties and risks inherent to the management of large projects. @RISK is also used for project management.

» Read more about risk analysis

Palisade Corporation
798 Cascadilla Street
Ithaca, NY 14850-3239
800 432 RISK (US/Can)
+1 607 277 8000
+1 607 277 8001 fax
sales@palisade.com
Palisade EMEA & India
+44 1895 425050 salesEMEA@palisade.com
salesIndia@palisade.com
Palisade Asia-Pacific
+61 2 9252 5922
salesAP@palisade.com
Palisade アジア・
パシフィック東京事務所
+81 3 5456 5287 tel
sales.jp@palisade.com
www.palisade.com/jp/
Palisade Latinoamérica
+1 607 277 8000 x318
+54-1152528795  Argentina
+56-25813492 Chile
+507-8365675 Panamá
+52 55 5350 2852 México
+511-7086781 Perú
+57-15085187 Colombia
servicioalcliente@palisade.com
ventas@palisade.com
www.palisade-lta.com
Palisade Brasil
+55 (21) 3958 1443
+1 607 277 8000 x318 tel
vendas@palisade.com
www.palisade-br.com