2012Top.png
ARC Ltd uses @RISK to Inform Catastrophe Insurance Risk Pool in Africa

In This Issue
What's New
» ARC Ltd uses @RISK for
   Catastrophe Insurance Risk
   Pool in Africa
  

» 2016 Risk Conferences,
   Call for Papers


@RISK Modeling Tips
» Streamline with
   Custom Reports


Webinars - New Topics!


In This Issue
rss-feed-icon.png e-mail.png fb.png LinkedIn.png twitter.png

2016 Palisade Risk Conferences
An intensive networking and software training event presented by Palisade trainers and consultants, with real-world case studies presented by industry experts.
 
North America
» Houston: 10 June
» Chicago: 27 July
» New Orleans: 1-2 November

EMEA & India
» Bangalore: 19 April
» New Delhi: 21 April
» Munich: 9 June
» Amsterdam: 14 June
» Edinburgh: 22 September
» Moscow: 6 October
» Abu Dhabi: 17 October
» Cape Town: 10 November

Regional Seminars Asia-Pacific
Adelaide: June 22-23
Sydney: July 12-13
Brisbane: August 16-17

EMEA
London: July 13-15
London: September 6-8
Frankfurt: September 7-9
Amsterdam: September 27-29
Sandton: September 27-29

Latin America
San José, Costa Rica:
26 al 28 de Julio
Panamá, Panamá:
3 al 5 de agosto
Montevideo, Uruguay
16 al 18 de agosto

North America
Houston, TX: June 7-9
Toronto, ON: June 7-9
Raleigh, NC: June 8-10
Vancouver, BC: June 28-29
Washington, DC July 28-29
Calgary, AB: August 9-11


Trial Versions
Palisade software is available
in fully functional trial versions.
Try @RISK or any of our
software today!


The DecisionTools Suite
The complete risk and
decision analysis toolkit

» English
» Español
» Português
» Deutsch
» Français
» РУССКИЙ
» 日本語版
» 中文版

@RISK
Risk analysis software using Monte Carlo simulation for Excel and Project

BigPicture
Mind Mapping and Data Exploration for Excel

PrecisionTree
Visual decision analysis
for spreadsheets

NeuralTools
Sophisticated neural networks for spreadsheets

StatTools
Advanced statistical analysis for spreadsheets

Evolver
The Innovative Optimizer
for Windows


The DecisionTools Suite

ARC Ltd uses @RISK to Inform Catastrophe Insurance Risk Pool in Africa
@RISK has been an important tool in the creation of African Risk Capacity Insurance Company Limited (ARC Ltd), Africa’s first sovereign catastrophe insurance risk pool. ARC Ltd has been using @RISK software since the group was first set up in 2013 to support complex modelling of drought losses across Africa for insurance and reinsurance pricing purposes, as well as dynamic financial analysis to model ARC Ltd’s long-term financial sustainability.

Case I: Using @RISK to Simulate Drought
Losses Across Multiple African Countries

ARC Ltd provides insurance against drought risk to African governments. The insurance pays out based on satellite rainfall data that feeds into a drought index which is then converted into an estimated cost of responding to the drought. This is done through ARC Ltd’s software Africa RiskView.

ARC Ltd can therefore calculate what the drought response costs would have been for each African country for the past 30+ years of historic rainfall data. Based on this historic data, ARC Ltd uses @RISK to simulate the drought losses over longer time periods. And based on these simulations, an accurate price for transferring the drought risk to ARC Ltd can be calculated.

Case II: Using @RISK for Dynamic Financial
Analysis of Arc Ltd Appropriate Capital Base

In addition, ARC Ltd also uses @RISK extensively in its Dynamic Financial Analysis (DFA) modelling. ARC Ltd uses DFA to test various portfolios of risk (i.e. different countries and coverages), priced at different rates, with different initial capital and different reinsurance strategies. Other items such as investment return, operational costs and reinsurance pricing can also be varied. Monte Carlo simulation techniques are used to sample a wide variety of possible outcomes for a financial (insurance) entity and provides a probabilistic summary of financial results for a forward-looking window.

@RISK has been a pivotal tool in the growth of Africa’s first sovereign catastrophe insurance risk pool and will continue to be the tool that ARC Ltd turns to in order to maintain long-term financial stability.

» Read the detailed case study
» Learn more about @RISK
» ARC Ltd

2016 Risk Conferences
Palisade Risk Conferences are taking place around the globe in 2016! We're looking for interesting applications of @RISK and DecisionTools Suite software for presentations. Register now for an event near you.

US Risk Conferences

Houston June 10 More Info - Register Now
Chicago July 27 More Info - Register Now
New Orleans Nov 1 & 2 Call for Papers - Register Now

EMEA Risk Conferences

Munich June 9 More Info - Register Now
Amsterdam June 14 More Info - Register Now
Edinburgh Oil & Gas, Sept 22 Call for Papers - Register
Moscow October 6 Call for Papers - Register Now
Cape Town November 10 Call for Papers - Register Now

Product Spotlight
Streamline with Custom Reports
After you run a simulation, there is typically a need to summarize your results in a streamlined fashion. With @RISK you can utilize the Excel Reports option and choose a layout that is prebuilt, or if you have @RISK 7 you are able to customize those report options to suit your needs. These new Customized Formatted Excel Reports in @RISK enable you to report exactly the simulation results you want, directly in Excel, utilizing a simple interface. Select just the graphs and statistics you want, and rearrange the items with just a few clicks. Your custom report will be automatically formatted for optimal viewing.

Using the example model below, click on the Model worksheet and Start Simulation. After the simulation is complete, click on Excel Reports. A dialog will appear with the predefined options, click on the box to the left of Custom Reports to activate the Custom Report Settings Tab. Then explore the many options that are in the Custom Reports Settings Tab.

» Download the example model

Upcoming_Webcasts

New topic: BigPicture for Entrepreneurs and MLMs
Presenter: Michelle Jackson, Palisade Corporation
01 June - 1pm EDT / 7pm CEST / 6pm BST » Register Now

New topic: Oil and Gas Applications of @RISK and the DecisionTools Suite
Presenter: Doug Oldfield, Palisade Corporation
09 June - 10am BST / 11am CEST / 5am EDT » Register Now

New topic: Custom @RISK Model Building
Presenter: Allen Grundy
09 June - 11am EDT / 8am PDT / 4pm BST » Register Now

Introduction to BigPicture
Presenter: Robin Holloway, Palisade Corporation
15 June - 3pm BST / 10am EDT / 2pm UTC » Register Now
24 August - 3pm BST / 10am EDT » Register Now

New topic: Standard, Pro, Industrial: Three flavours of @RISK
Presenter: Doug Oldfield, Palisade Corporation
30 June - 10am BST / 11am CEST / 5am EDT » Register Now

BigPicture: Tips and Tricks
Presenter: Robin Holloway, Palisade Corporation
07 July - 1:30pm BST / 12:30pm UTC / 8:30am EDT » Register Now

Introduction to Risk and Decision Analysis
using @RISK and The DecisionTools Suite

07 July - 10am BST / 11am CEST / 5am EDT » Register Now
11 August - 10am BST / 11am CEST / 5am EDT » Register Now

BigPicture for Human Resources
Presenter: Robin Holloway, Palisade Corporation
09 August - 3pm BST / 2pm UTC / 10am EDT » Register Now

» See complete Webinar schedule


Palisade
The Global Leader in Risk
and Decision Analysis

Palisade Corporation is the world's leading provider of risk and decision analysis software and solutions. Founded in 1984, its products @RISK and the DecisionTools Suite are used by over 95% of the Fortune 100, in nearly every industry around the world. Palisade is headquartered in New York State, and has offices in London, Sydney, Rio de Janeiro, and Tokyo.

 
Palisade Corporation

Live Chat
©2016 Palisade Corporation, visit www.palisade.com
Contact Us{{lead.Palisade Office Sales Email:default=sales@palisade.com}}