全球领先的风险与决策分析软件
@RISK 和 DecisionTools Suite 的制造商
ENGLISH I ESPAÑOL I PORTUGUÉS I FRANÇAIS I DEUTSCH I 日本語 I 中文 I РУССКИЙ
案例研究
@RISK 帮助哥伦比亚大学的学生应对全球风险

哥伦比亚大学国际与公共事务学院 (SIPA) 的学生学习如何应对全球风险。其中,2005 届学生来自于 100 多个国家和地区,而全院 11,000 名校友就职于全球 155 个国家和地区。很多校友面临着地区风险、跨国风险乃至全球风险。

哥伦比亚大学能源、海运与公共政策中心
对国际能源管理及相关的公共政策问题感兴趣的 SIPA 学生可得到哥伦比亚大学能源、海运与公共政策中心 (CEMTPP) 的重视。该中心成立于 SIPA,旨在提供影响全球能源生产、运输和消耗的经济、环境、政治、技术及其他方面的研究焦点。CEMTPP 基于 SIPA 在国际经济学、公共政策及定量分析政策和管理的方法等学科方面的优势而创建。

亲身实践风险分析
在 Roy Nersesian 教授的定量分析能源和政策的方法这门课程中,学生们获得了亲身实践项目评估与政策评估的定量模型开发和介绍方面的经验。学生们使用 Palisade 的 @RISK 开发现金流和市场模型。

风险分析的力量
据 Nersesian 教授表示,“我们起初建立了一个静态模型,不出所料,最终结果相当完美。后来我们使用 @RISK 向模型中引入风险以进行适当的 风险分析,此时最终结果发生了变化。由此学生们很快就想到其中可能存在某些负面结果。”

风险分析与风险管理案例非常具有吸引力。在课程中,使用了一个针对某发展中国家一石油生产项目的财务分析示例。相关的静态模型表明,该项目将大获成功。但是,如果使用 @RISK 引入不确定因素(如未来油价和利率),该模型将变得更加有趣。学生们将了解变量(如全球油价和贷款利率)的影响如何使确定性事件转变为不可能事件。目的在于确定风险、通过建模了解其影响,然后对融资结构进行适当调整以降低风险。

风险分析与 @RISK 相辅相成
风险分析与 @RISK 对定量分析课程有多重要?“使用 @RISK 可将静态模型迅速转变为能显示所有可能结果的动态概率模型。”Nersesian 补充道,“学生们发现 @RISK 简单易用,不一会儿就能熟练掌握。”“学完本门课程后,他们就能了解风险以及如何使用 @RISK 对风险进行分析;同时在了解风险范围后,能够使用工具提出规划以降低风险。”

Roy Nersesian 是数本财务与风险分析方面书籍的作者,如有兴趣,可联系 Palisade 以取阅。最后,他总结道,“我这辈子没见过不考虑业务决策中存在的风险,还能作出有效决策的管理者。没有 @RISK,他们将无法制定决策。”

» @RISK
» 哥伦比亚大学国际与公共事务学院




Palisade Corporation
798 Cascadilla Street
Ithaca, NY 14850-3239
800 432 RISK (US/Can)
+1 607 277 8000
+1 607 277 8001 fax
sales@palisade.com
Palisade EMEA & India
+44 1895 425050 salesEMEA@palisade.com
salesIndia@palisade.com
Palisade Asia-Pacific
+61 2 9252 5922
salesAP@palisade.com
Palisade アジア・
パシフィック東京事務所
+81 3 5456 5287 tel
sales.jp@palisade.com
www.palisade.com/jp/
Palisade Latinoamérica
+1 607 277 8000 x318
+54-1152528795  Argentina
+56-25813492 Chile
+507-8365675 Panamá
+52 55 5350 2852 México
+511-7086781 Perú
+57-15085187 Colombia
servicioalcliente@palisade.com
ventas@palisade.com
www.palisade-lta.com
Palisade Brasil
+55 (21) 3958 1443
+1 607 277 8000 x318 tel
vendas@palisade.com
www.palisade-br.com

Customers & Industries: Columbia University

@RISK Helps Columbia University Students Tackle Global Risks

  • Industry: Academic, Government
  • Product(s): @RISK
  • Application: Energy and Public Policy

Summary

Columbia University students in Professor Roy Nersesian’s Quantitative Methods in Energy and Policy Analysis course gain hands-on experience in the development and interpretation of quantitative models for project evaluation and policy assessment. The students develop cash flow and market models using Palisade’s @RISK.

I don’t see how a manager can be effective without considering the risks inherent in any business decision. In other words, I don’t know how they live without @RISK.
Professor Roy Nersesian, Columbia University’s School of International & Public Affairs

Students at Columbia University’s School of International & Public Affairs (SIPA) learn to deal with risk on a global level. The class of 2005 came from over 100 countries, and the School’s 11,000 alumni are working in 155 countries around the globe. Many alumni are faced with risk on a local level, a transnational level, and a global level.

Columbia Center for Energy, Marine Transport and Public Policy

SIPA students who are interested in international energy management and related public policy issues can obtain a concentration from Columbia’s Center for Energy, Marine Transportation and Public Policy (CEMTPP). The Center was established at SIPA to provide a focal point for the study of economic, environmental, political, technological and other factors that affect the global production, transportation and consumption of energy. CEMTPP builds upon SIPA's strengths in international economics, public policy and quantitative techniques for analyzing policy and management.

Hands-on Risk Analysis Experience

Students in Professor Roy Nersesian’s Quantitative Methods in Energy and Policy Analysis course gain hands-on experience in the development and interpretation of quantitative models for project evaluation and policy assessment. The students develop cash flow and market models using Palisade’s @RISK.

The Power of Risk Analysis

According to Professor Nersesian, “We start by building a static model, and not surprisingly, the results look great. Then we add risk into the model using @RISK for a proper risk analysis, and the picture changes. The students quickly learn that there are possible negative outcomes.”

The case for risk analysis and risk management is pretty compelling. One example used in the course is a financial analysis of an oil production project in a developing nation. A static model suggests that the project is a slam dunk. However when uncertain factors such as future oil prices and interest rates are added using @RISK, the model becomes much more interesting. The students learn how the impact of variables such as the global price of oil and lending rates can turn a sure thing into a fiasco. The lesson is to identify risks, understand their impact through modeling, and then implement appropriate changes to the structure of the financing to mitigate risk.

Risk Analysis and @RISK are Essential

How important is risk analysis and @RISK to the quantitative analysis course? “With @RISK they quickly turn static models into dynamic, probabilistic models that show all the possible outcomes.” Nersesian adds, “Students find @RISK easy to use – it takes very little time to become proficient. When the students complete the course, they understand risk, they understand how @RISK can be used to analyze risk, and once they understand the scope of risk, they have the tools to come up with a plan to mitigate risk.”

Roy Nersesian is the author of several books on finance and risk analysis available through Palisade. In conclusion he states “I don’t see how a manager can be effective without considering the risks inherent in any business decision. In other words, I don’t know how they live without @RISK.”

Have Questions? Talk with us.

Contact Us