全球领先的风险与决策分析软件
@RISK 和 DecisionTools Suite 的制造商
ENGLISH I ESPAÑOL I PORTUGUÉS I FRANÇAIS I DEUTSCH I 日本語 I 中文 I РУССКИЙ
案例研究
Scottsdale Insurance 公司利用 @RISK 以掌握竞争机会

两处房产,一个重要的决策
承保还是拒保,必须予以谨慎的考虑。对可能会导致损失的风险进行精确的评估,是做出此等决策时的关键因素之一。为说明评估风险的重要性,在比较两处不同的商业房产时,Scottsdale Insurance 公司使用 Palisade 的 @RISK 帮助承保人判断哪一处商业房产拥有更高的资本回报以提供承保。

对于此分析,Scottsdale Insurance 公司 使用 @RISK 以确定风险调整后的资本回报率 (RAROC),一个用于分析风险调整后财务状况的框架。RAROC 的精确评估帮助组织获得针对各项业务盈利性的统一看法。另外,RAROC 还能在计算为承担潜在风险而必须付出的资本后,提供清晰的投资回报预测评估。

在 Scottsdale Insurance 公司模型中比较了分处亚利桑那州和佛罗里达州的两处商业房产,由于它们拥有相同的预期损失率、费用率、一年期支出和投资收益率,因此乍看之下这两处房产非常相似。在这种情况下,风险分析便扮演了负责确定哪一个房产值得承保的关键角色。

关于 Scottsdale Insurance 公司
Scottsdale Insurance 公司是 Nationwide 保险公司的子公司,于 1982 年在只有 12 位员工的情况下正式开始营业。至今,它已发展成美国国内最大的超额剩余 (E&S) 和专线货运承保公司之一。公司拥有 1,350 家联合公司,保费年度营业额超过 20 亿美元。Scottsdale Insurance 公司承保商业及个人房产和伤亡风险,以及多种被许多普通的保险公司拒保的险种。

使用 @RISK 以确定回报
承保人的 RAROC 会因许多因素而降低,又取决于总收益(承保收益和投资收入),并按资本划分(非投资风险和投资风险)。在考虑任何风险因素前,亚利桑那州和佛罗里达州的两处房产相比,后者营业收入较高,似乎拥有最好的初始收益。表面看来,如何决策显而易见。但是,使用 @RISK 的对数正态分布后,便会出现不同的结果。

在比较两处房产时,最重要的风险因素是灾难性天气的发生。为确定必须预留多少资本以承保潜在支出,Scottsdale Insurance 公司使用 @RISK 以模拟两处房产的天气风险。毫无疑问,佛罗里达州房产将会提出更高额的索赔,因为飓风等天气事件在当地的发生频率较高。但是,这笔高额的索赔是否会使佛罗里达州房产的初始回报优势荡然无存?

为进一步评估两处房产的 RAROC,Scottsdale Insurance 公司随后使用 @RISK 以确定每处房产超过 10% 的最低回报率或其“要求报酬率”的效率。分析显示,两处房产都有 64% 的机会实现 10% 的要求报酬率。但是,对数字进行更深入的检验后,公司得到了一个非常重要的答案:超过要求回报率时,哪一处房产的回报率最高?在模拟中,亚利桑那州房产超过了要求回报率,平均回报为 18%;相比之下,佛罗里达州房产的平均回报只有 11%。因此,承保亚利桑那州房产是更明智的承保选择。虽然佛罗里达州房产拥有更高的营业收入,但是保险公司使用 @RISK 进行评估的结论是,亚利桑那州房产能够节省更多的资本,让公司可针对其他机会进行投资。

表 1:@RISK 分布说明了,亚利桑那州房产在超过初始要求回报率后,其回报达 18%

表 2:佛罗里达州房产的回报较低,只有 11%

“我们面对着一个充满竞争的环境,定价在其中变得不切实际。投资收益率达到了历史低位,充裕资本的利用率也随之降低。使用 @RISK 让我们能够在竞争机会间做出选择,”Scottsdale Insurance 金融业务顾问 Allan Smith 说,“图形输出项是最有用的功能。能否制作显示出结果范围的图表,对分析我们复杂的模型来说至关重要,同时,在向没有金融背景的高级管理人员做演示时也极有帮助。”

» Scottsdale Insurance Company
» 与 @RISK 有关的更多信息




Palisade Corporation
130 East Seneca Street
Suite 505
Ithaca, NY 14850
800 432 RISK (US/Can)
+1 607 277 8000
+1 607 277 8001 fax
sales@palisade.com
Palisade EMEA & India
+44 1895 425050 salesEMEA@palisade.com
salesIndia@palisade.com
Palisade Asia-Pacific
+61 2 9252 5922
salesAP@palisade.com
Palisade アジア・
パシフィック東京事務所
+81 3 5456 5287 tel
sales.jp@palisade.com
www.palisade.com/jp/
Palisade Latinoamérica
+1 607 277 8000 x318
+54-1152528795  Argentina
+56-25813492 Chile
+507-8365675 Panamá
+52 55 5350 2852 México
+511-7086781 Perú
+57-15085187 Colombia
servicioalcliente@palisade.com
ventas@palisade.com
www.palisade-lta.com
Palisade Brasil
+55 (21) 3958 1443
+1 607 277 8000 x318 tel
vendas@palisade.com
www.palisade-br.com

Customers & Industries: Scottsdale Insurance Company

Scottsdale Insurance Company Utilizes @RISK to Choose Between Competing Opportunities

  • Industry: Insurance/Reinsurance
  • Product(s): @RISK
  • Application: Comparing commercial properties; RAROC

Summary

Scottsdale Insurance Company, a subsidiary of Nationwide, used Palisade’s @RISK to portray how the insurer would decide which commercial property which would have a higher return on capital to insure, when comparing two different commercial properties.

Using @RISK allows us to choose between competing opportunities. I find the graphical outputs to be the most useful feature. Being able to compose a picture showing the range of outcomes is critical to analyzing our complex models and is extremely useful in presenting to senior executives, who do not have financial backgrounds.
Allan Smith, Financial Business Advisor, Scottsdale Insurance

Two Properties, One Important Decision

The decision to insure or decline coverage must be considered prudently. Accurately assessing the risks that could affect losses is one of the key factors when making such a decision. To illustrate the significance of assessing risk, Scottsdale Insurance Company used Palisade’s @RISK to portray how the insurer would decide which commercial property which would have a higher return on capital to insure, when comparing two different commercial properties.

For this analysis, Scottsdale Insurance Company used @RISK to determine Risk Adjusted Returns on Capital (RAROC), a framework for analyzing risk-adjusted financial performance. Accurate assessment of RAROC enables organizations to get a consistent view of profitability across businesses. RAROC also provides a clear assessment of the return on investment forecast, after accounting for expenditures required to cover potential risk.

In the Scottsdale Insurance Company model, a comparison between commercial properties in Arizona and in Florida might appear to be very similar at first glance, with both properties expected to have the same expected loss ratio, same expense ratio, same twelve month pay out and the same investment yield. In situations like these, risk analysis can play a crucial role in determining which property to insure.

About Scottsdale Insurance Company

A subsidiary of Nationwide, Scottsdale Insurance Company began operations in 1982. The office opened with twelve employees. Today, it is one of the largest excess and surplus (E&S) and specialty lines carriers in the nation. The company has 1,350 associates and annual sales of more than $2 billion in premium. Scottsdale Insurance Company accepts commercial and personal property and casualty risks, in addition to a wide range of lines that many standard companies reject.

Using @RISK to Determine Returns

There are many factors that can decrease an insurer’s RAROC, which is contingent upon total return (underwriting gain and investment income) and divided by capital (non-investment risk and investment risk). Before considering any risk factors, the Florida property seems to present the best initial return with a larger operating income, as compared to the property in Arizona. On the surface, the decision seems fairly obvious. However, utilizing @RISK’s log-normal distributions, a different consideration appears.

The most concerning risk factor when comparing the two properties is the occurrence of catastrophic weather. To determine how much capital must be held in reserves to cover potential payouts, Scottsdale Insurance Company utilizes @RISK to simulate weather risk in each location. It is not surprising that the Florida property represented much higher coverage, given the likelihood of weather events such as hurricanes. However, would that amount surpass the Florida-based property’s initial return advantage?

Table 1: @RISK distribution illustrates the Arizona property earning an 18 percent return when clearing the initial hurdle rate

To further assess the two properties’ RAROC, Scottsdale Insurance Company then used @RISK to determine how effectively each property would exceed a minimum return rate of 10 percent, or its “hurdle rate”. The analysis showed that both properties had a 64 percent chance of clearing the 10 percent hurdle rate. However, a deeper inspection of the numbers answered a very important question: When exceeding the hurdle rate, which property cleared it the highest? In simulations where the Arizona property cleared the hurdle rate, it offered a mean return of 18 percent, compared to the Florida property, which offered a mean return of just 11 percent. As a result, insuring the Arizona property would be a better choice to insure. While the Florida property showed a greater operating income, using @RISK, the insurance company could clearly assess that the Arizona property would free up more capital that the company could use to invest in additional opportunities.

Table 2: Florida property offers a much smaller return, at just 11 percent

“We face a competitive environment where pricing is often unrealistic. An abundance of capital has driven rates lower while investment yields are at historic lows. Using @RISK allows us to choose between competing opportunities,” said Allan Smith, financial business advisor at Scottsdale Insurance. “I find the graphical outputs to be the most useful feature. Being able to compose a picture showing the range of outcomes is critical to analyzing our complex models and is extremely useful in presenting to senior executives, who do not have financial backgrounds.”

Have Questions? Talk with us.

Contact Us