全球领先的风险与决策分析软件
@RISK 和 DecisionTools Suite 的制造商
ENGLISH I ESPAÑOL I PORTUGUÉS I FRANÇAIS I DEUTSCH I 日本語 I 中文 I РУССКИЙ
案例研究


巴西国家石油公司已将 @RISK 和公司内部的勘探和生产系统——Progride 进行了集成。该集成有利于对具有多种特许权的生产平台进行了精准而全面的评估,同时节省了大量运行时间。
巴西国家石油公司使用 @RISK 进行勘探和生产分析

挑战
就市值而言, 巴西国家石油公司 (巴西石油生产商及炼油厂运营商)是全球第八大跨国公司。其投资额超过 530 亿美元,其中包括 13000 多个生产石油和天然气的油井及 112 个生产平台。

最近,该公司实施了一项全公司范围的协议,用于评估与潜在投资有关的经济风险。巴西国家石油公司面临与以下方面有关的的主要利益风险:石油和天然气生产;对衍生产品的需求;各种商品的价格;进行运营的起始日期;以及公司资本 (CAPEX) 和营运 (OPEX) 支出的变动。在执行上述风险分析时,巴西国家石油公司看重以下几项关键指标:预期 NPV;了解与奖励有关的风险所需的 NPV 标准差;NPV 为负值或出现亏损的概率;NPV 的 95% 风险价值 (VAR),即巴西国家石油公司出现亏损的概率为 5% 时的最低投资额。

巴西国家石油公司的 Progride 系统
为评估上述风险,巴西国家石油公司的勘探和生产 (E&P) 部门开发了一个在公司范围内使用的内部系统,该系统称为 Progride。该系统基于 Excel,并使用自定义 C++ 子程序执行分析。公司使用 Progride 模拟许多勘探和生产应用,其中包括:油价及价差趋势;收入所得税和特许使用金;贬值、剩余价值及项目的经济周期;灵敏度分析;以及其他内部经济指标。此外,Progride 也具有风险分析功能。

该系统能够处理各种复杂性问题,如位于同一地点或具有相同“特许权”的多个相关项目(即一个基本项目加多个补充项目)。特许权表示巴西国家石油公司享有在特定区域进行钻井的权利,通常还带有支付租金、税费以及特许使用金的义务。最后,Progride 还可用于管理预期的未来生产项目以及旨在减少营运支出的项目(即未来营运支出为“负值”)。

传统 Progride 分析
巴西国家石油公司的勘探和生产分析师输入大量数据以运行传统 Progride 分析,这导致无法对该分析作出确定性的假设。这些数据包括:折扣率、通货膨胀率、税率和汇率;运营起始日期;贬值时间;油价;石油、天然气、水及水注入的现场生产曲线;资本支出(如钻井、表面安装和收集);固定运营成本和可变运营成本;以及放弃成本。

通过执行此分析,Progride 会返回 NPV、IRR 及项目回报时间;放弃项目的最佳日期;以及公司的财务状况。但这些结果均基于假设为 100% 确定的输入数据中的最佳猜测点所对应的值。因此未将风险计入考虑范围。

Progride 风险分析
要在 Progride 中执行风险分析,分析师必须构建分布以反映主要输入变量的概率范围。这些分布包括:石油、天然气、水及水注入的现场概率生产曲线;单位生产经营能力;每个 CAPEX 和 CAPEX 部分的偏差分布;以及运营起始日期分布。

通过执行此风险分析,Progride 会提供项目的预期 NPV 以及直方图和针对预期 NPV 提出的风险分散或风险预防措施。此外,Progride 还对 NPV 为负值或项目出现亏损的概率进行了预估。

Progride 的局限性
尽管 Progride 对巴西国家石油公司帮助很大,但由于它本身存在重大的局限性,因此公司必须借力于 @RISK。一方面,Progride 的风险分析不允许用户访问模拟数据,致使分析师无法精确了解各种可能情形。另一方面,Progride 无法有效处理更为复杂的项目,如与其他公司合作完成的项目、共享公共基础设施的项目或享有多种特许权的综合项目。

要阐述这些局限性的影响,可假设使用具有两种特许权或有多个特定生产场地的综合开发项目。巴西国家石油公司投资单一的共用石油生产流程单元以处理上述两种特许权(共享 CAPEX)。但是,出于区域租赁、特许使用金及研发等目的,公司必须区别对待巴西国家石油管理局 (ANP) 授予的每种特许权。请参见图 1。


图 1

在这种情况下,必须将综合项目作为一个整体来进行风险分析。上述两种特许权共享某些风险因素,如价格和 CAPEX。此外还存在一些不相关的风险因素,如生产和项目起始日期。但是,对每种特许权的某些成本(如区域租金、特许使用金及研发费用),应予以区别对待。同时,还应将特定类型的贬值(如油井贬值)分别计入上述两种特许权。多特许权项目非常普遍,但 Progride 必须运行上千小时才能对其进行分析,并给出不切实际且可能不精准的预期。

@RISK-Progride 解决方案
为解决此问题,巴西国家石油公司的勘探和生产部门引入了 @RISK。负责进行巴西国家石油公司投资运营部的财务规划和风险管理的 Rafael Hartke 开发了一种方法,通过该方法可将 @RISK 和 Progride 完全集成到 Excel 中。此系统允许他对具有多种特许权的生产平台进行精准而全面的评估,并节省大量运行时间。

针对上述多特许权项目,公司分别设立了三项独立的 Progride 分析,一项用于特许权 A,一项用于特许权待 B,另一项用于综合项目 A+B。随后,分析师在 @RISK 中分别对每种特许权的共享风险因素(如价格和 CAPEX 偏差)和不相关风险因素(如生产和运营起始日期)的各种可能情形进行模拟。通过将 @RISK 生成的各种可能情形用作输入数据,分别对每种特许权执行传统 Progride 分析。在 @RISK 模拟期间调用运行 Progride 的宏,即可在运行 @RISK 时执行此分析。上述两项传统特许权分析的结果构成每种特许权的可能情形(如生产、收益、CAPEX、OPEX、财务成本和贬值)。请参见图 2 和图 3。


图 2


图 3

汇总上述每种特许权结果,即可确定综合项目 (A+B) 作为一个整体的各种可能情形。然后,通过将组合而成的各种可能情形用作输入数据,在 @RISK 中对综合项目执行传统 Progride 展分析。随后根据分析结果确定整个项目的理想风险指标。请参见图 4。


图 4

如同 3-2-1 一样简单

@RISK-Progride 过程可归结为 3 个阶段、2 个函数和 1 个宏。

该过程的 3 个阶段分别为:

  1. 使用 @RISK 模拟并生成共享和不相关风险因素的各种可能情形。
  2. 使用 Excel 的 Offset 和 @RISK 的 RiskCurrentIter 函数,将在 @RISK 中生成的各种可能情形链接至每种特许权的传统 Progride 分析对应的输入数据。
  3. 通过调用在每次 @RISK 迭代后执行传统 Progride 分析的宏,来分别在 @RISK 中执行每个传统 Progride 分析。

用于完成 @RISK 与 Progride 之间的集成的两个主要函数分别为:

  1. RiskCurrentIter():这是一个 @RISK 统计函数,可在运行时返回模拟的当前迭代的值。
  2. Offset(cell ref, rows, columns):这是一个 Excel 函数,可返回指定了特定单元引用的行数和列数的单元的值。

最后,该过程只需使用一个宏。在模拟期间,将 @RISK 设定为在每次迭代重新计算后运行该 Excel 宏。接着该宏将运行 Progride 并包含代码: SendKeys "%PX", True

@RISK-Progride 解决方案的优势
巴西国家石油公司的综合解决方案赋予公司多项珍贵优势。首先,在分析项目时,此解决方案使得其共享风险因素的各种可能情形可加以区别对待。其次,使用 @RISK 可实现与合作伙伴一同进行项目分析。与上述示例类似,可针对每个合作伙伴执行单独的 Progride 分析,在此过程中可区别对待财务因素,但同时又可共享项目风险因素。再者,如我们所见,此方法可用于分析具有多种特许权的综合项目,其中可对每种特许权执行单独的 Progride 分析,在此过程中可区别对待财务和贬值因素,但同时又可共享项目风险因素。同样地,现在可通过相同的方式,对与他人共享基础设施的项目、单独项目或特许权进行模拟。此外,@RISK 还有助于巴西国家石油公司将先前上千小时的项目计算时间缩短至仅仅一天。如果将省下的时间与员工的工资标准相乘,即可节约一笔相当可观的成本。

» “通过 @RISK 将企业系统与风险分析集成”,
   Rafael Hartke,巴西国家石油公司发表于 2009 年 11
   月在巴西召开的 Palisade 大会上

»
@RISK
» 巴西国家石油公司



Palisade Corporation
798 Cascadilla Street
Ithaca, NY 14850-3239
800 432 RISK (US/Can)
+1 607 277 8000
+1 607 277 8001 fax
sales@palisade.com
Palisade EMEA & India
+44 1895 425050 salesEMEA@palisade.com
salesIndia@palisade.com
Palisade Asia-Pacific
+61 2 9252 5922
salesAP@palisade.com
Palisade アジア・
パシフィック東京事務所
+81 3 5456 5287 tel
sales.jp@palisade.com
www.palisade.com/jp/
Palisade Latinoamérica
+1 607 277 8000 x318
+54-1152528795  Argentina
+56-25813492 Chile
+507-8365675 Panamá
+52 55 5350 2852 México
+511-7086781 Perú
+57-15085187 Colombia
servicioalcliente@palisade.com
ventas@palisade.com
www.palisade-lta.com
Palisade Brasil
+55 (21) 3958 1443
+1 607 277 8000 x318 tel
vendas@palisade.com
www.palisade-br.com

Customers & Industries: Petrobras

Petrobras Uses @RISK for E&P Analysis

  • Industry: Oil/Gas/Energy
  • Product(s): @RISK
  • Application: Exploration & Production

Summary

To evaluate risks such as O&G production, derivatives, commodities, and operating expenditures, the Exploration and Production (E&P) section of Petrobras developed an in-house system for corporate-wide use called Progride. To get around limitations within Progride and handle risk analysis on integrated projects as a whole, Petrobras integrated @RISK and Progride within Excel.

@RISK helps Petrobras reduce the calculation time for projections that used to take thousands of hours to a single day. If you multiply the saved hours by staff pay rates, you can get a pretty good picture of some huge cost savings.

The Challenge

In terms of its market value, Petrobras, the Brazilian oil producer and refinery operator, is the eighth largest global company in the world. Its investments amount to more than $53 billion, and these include more than thirteen thousand productive oil and gas wells and 112 production platforms.

Recently the company implemented a corporate-wide protocol for evaluating the economic risks associated with potential investments. Key risks of interest to Petrobras include those associated with: the production of oil and natural gas; the demand for derivatives; the prices of various commodities; the start dates for various operations; and changes in company capital (CAPEX) and operating (OPEX) expenditures. In performing analysis of these risks, Petrobras looks to several key indicators: expected NPV; the standard deviation of NPV to get a sense of the risk associated with the reward; the probability of a negative NPV, or of losing money; and the 95% Value at Risk (VAR) of the NPV, which is the minimum amount that Petrobras stands a 5% chance of losing.

Petrobras’s Progride System

To evaluate these risks, the Exploration and Production (E & P) section of Petrobras developed an in-house system for corporate-wide use called Progride. Progride is based in Excel and uses customized C++ subroutines to perform it analyses. The company uses it to model a variety of E & P applications, including: oil trends like prices and spreads; income taxes and royalties; depreciation, residual value, and economic life of a project; sensitivity analysis; and other internal economic indicators. Progride also has risk analysis capabilities.

The system is capable of handling complexities such as multiple dependent projects (i.e. a base project plus complementary projects) within the same geographic site or “concession.” A concession represents the right for Petrobras to drill in a specific area, and typically carries with it obligations of rent, tax, and royalty payments. Proglide can also manage anticipated future production projects as well as projects that reduce operating expenses (i.e. have “negative” future operating expense).

Conventional Progride Analysis

E & P analysts at Petrobras enter a variety of data to run a conventional Progride analysis, making assumptions for what is uncertain. These data include: discount, inflation, tax and exchange rates; operation start dates; depreciation time; oil prices; production curves at the site for oil, natural gas, and water as well as water injection; capital expenditures such as drilling, surface installations, and collection; fixed and variable operating costs; and the cost of abandonment.

From such an analysis, Progride returns the NPV, IRR, and project return time; the best date for project abandonment; and the financial exposure to the company. However these results are based on best-guess point values in the input data that are assumed to be 100% certain. Thus risk is not taken into account.

Risk Analysis in Progride

For a risk analysis in Progride, analysts must construct distributions to represent ranges of possibilities for key input variables. These include: probabilistic production curves at the site for oil, natural gas, and water as well as water injection; unit production operational capacity; distributions for deviations in each CAPEX and OPEX component; and a distribution for the operation’s start date.

From this risk analysis, Progride provides the expected NPV of the project along with a histogram and measures of dispersion, or risk, around the expected NPV. It also estimates the probability of a negative NPV, or of losing money on the project.

Limitations of Progride

As useful as Progride is to Petrobras, it has a number of significant limitations that led the company to look to @RISK. For one, Progride’s risk analysis does not provide user access to the simulation data, preventing analysts from getting a closer look at different probabilistic scenarios. Furthermore, Progride cannot effectively handle more complex projects, such as those done in partnership with other companies, projects that share common infrastructure, or integrated projects with multiple concessions.

Figure 1

To illustrate the effect of these limitations, consider an integrated development project with production from two concessions, or specific sites. Petrobras invests in a single shared production oil flow unit to handle both concessions – a shared CAPEX. However, the company must treat each concession individually for Brazil’s National Petroleum Agency (ANP) for purposes such as area rent, royalties, and R&D. See Figure 1.

In such a situation, risk analysis must be done on the integrated project as a whole. There are risk factors shared by both of the concessions, such as prices and CAPEX. And, there are independent risk factors, such as production and project start dates. However, some costs should be treated individually for each concession, like area rent, royalties, and R&D. Certain types of depreciation (on wells, for instance) should also be calculated for each concession as well. Multiple-concession projects are fairly common, yet Progride cannot analyze them without running for thousands of hours – an impractical, and potentially inaccurate, prospect.

Figure 2

Figure 3

Figure 4

The @RISK-Progride Solution

To address this problem, Petrobras E&P brought in @RISK. Rafael Hartke, who heads up financial planning and risk management for Petrobras’s investment operations, has developed a method to integrate @RISK with Progride, all in Excel. This system allows him to make an accurate and comprehensive assessment of a production platform with multiple concessions—and to save a huge amount of run time.

For the multiple concession project described above, the company sets up three separate Progride analyses – one for concession A, one for concession B, and one for the integrated project A+B. Then, analysts model probabilistic scenarios in @RISK for both the shared risk factors (prices, CAPEX deviations, e.g.) and the independent risks (production and start dates of operation, e.g.) for each concession. A conventional Progride analysis is performed for each concession individually, using the probabilistic scenarios generated by @RISK as input data. This analysis is performed while running @RISK by calling a macro that runs Progride during the @RISK simulation. The results of these two conventional concession analyses form the probabilistic scenario for each (e.g. production, revenue, CAPEX, OPEX, fiscal costs, and depreciation). See Figures 2 and 3.

These individual concession results are then summed together to determine the probabilistic scenarios for the integrated project as a whole (A+B). Next, a conventional Progride analysis is performed on the integrated project in @RISK using the combined probabilistic scenarios as entry data. Desired risk indicators for the entire project are then calculated from the analysis results. See Figure 4.

Easy as 3-2-1

The @RISK-Progride process can be summed up in 3 stages, 2 functions, and 1 macro.

The 3 stages of the process are:

1. Use @RISK to model and generate probabilistic scenarios for the shared and independent risk factors.
2. Link the probabilistic scenarios generated in @RISK to the input data of each concession’s conventional Progride analysis using the Excel’s Offset and @RISK’s RiskCurrentIter functions.
3. Execute each Prograde conventional analysis individually in @RISK, calling the macro which executes the Progride conventional analysis after each @RISK iteration.

The two primary functions used to accomplish the integration between @RISK and Progride are:

1. RiskCurrentIter(): This is an @RISK Statistics function which returns the value of the current iteration of the simulation while running.
2. Offset(cell ref, rows, columns): This is an Excel function which returns the value of a cell located a specified number of rows and columns from a particular cell reference.

Finally, there is only one macro needed in the process. @RISK is set to run this Excel macro after each iteration recalculation during a simulation. The macro simply runs Progride and contains the code: SendKeys "%PX", True

Benefits of the @RISK-Progride Solution

Petrobras’s integrated solution gives the company a number of valuable benefits. First, it permits the separation of probabilistic scenarios for shared risk factors common to the projects being analyzed. Second, the use of @RISK allows the analysis of projects undertaken with partners. Similar to the above example, a separate Progride analysis is done for each partner, treating the fiscal aspects individually, but sharing the project risk factors. Third, as we’ve just seen, this approach enables the analysis of integrated projects with multiple concessions, with a separate Progride analysis for each concession that treats the fiscal and depreciation aspects individually while sharing project risk factors. Similarly, projects that share infrastructure with other, separate projects or concessions can now also be modeled in the same manner. Lastly, @RISK helps Petrobras reduce the calculation time for projections that used to take thousands of hours to a single day. If you multiply the saved hours by staff pay rates, you can get a pretty good picture of some huge cost savings.

Have Questions? Talk with us.

Contact Us