Producteur des meilleurs logiciels au monde d’analyse du risque et de la décision, @RISK et DecisionTools
ENGLISH I ESPAÑOL I PORTUGUÉS I FRANÇAIS I DEUTSCH I 日本語 I 中文 I РУССКИЙ
Études de cas


Petrobras a intégré @RISK dans son système interne d’Exploration et Production Progride. L’intégration permet d’évaluer avec exactitude et exhaustivité des plateformes de production comportant de multiples concessions et de gagner considérablement en temps d’exécution.
Petrobras utilise @RISK pour son analyse E&P

Le défi
En termes de valeur de marché, Petrobras, le producteur pétrolier et exploitant de raffinerie brésilien est la huitième plus grande société au monde. Ses investissements s’élèvent à plus de 53 milliards de dollars, comprenant plus de treize mille puits pétroliers et gaziers productifs et 112 plateformes de production.

La société a récemment mis en œuvre un protocole global d’évaluation des risques économiques associés à des investissements potentiels. Les principaux risques intéressant Petrobras comprennent ceux qui sont associés à : la production de pétrole et de gaz naturel ; la demande de produits dérivés ; les prix des différentes matières premières ; les dates de début de différentes opérations et les modifications des dépenses d'investissement (CAPEX) et d'exploitation (OPEX) de la société. Dans le cadre de l’analyse de ces risques, Petrobras étudie plusieurs indicateurs clés : la VAN probable ; l’écart type de la VAN pour se faire une idée du risque associé à la récompense ; la probabilité d’une VAN négative ou de perdre de l’argent et la valeur à risque (VAR) à 95 % de la VAN, qui est le montant minimum que Petrobras a 5 % de chances de perdre.

Système Progride de Petrobras
Pour évaluer ces risques, la section Exploration et Production (E&P) de Petrobras a élaboré un système interne destiné à être utilisé dans toute l’entreprise, appelé Progride. Progride se fonde sur Excel et utilise des sous-routines C++ personnalisées pour effectuer ses analyses. La société l’utilise pour modéliser diverses applications d’E&P, dont : les tendances pétrolières comme les cours et les écarts ; les impôts sur le résultat et les redevances ; l’amortissement, la valeur résiduelle et la durée de vie économique d’un projet ; les analyses de sensibilité et d’autres indicateurs économiques internes. Progride possède aussi des capacités d’analyse du risque.

Le système est capable de traiter des situations complexes telles que de multiples projets dépendants (un projet de base plus des projets complémentaires) sur le même site géographique ou « concession ». Une concession représente le droit pour Petrobras de forer dans une zone donnée et s’accompagne généralement d’obligations de paiement de loyers, d’impôts et de redevances. Progride peut aussi gérer des projets de production future anticipée ainsi que des projets qui réduisent les charges d’exploitation (avoir des charges d’exploitation futures « négatives »).

Analyse Progride traditionnelle
Les analystes E&P de Petrobras saisissent diverses données pour lancer une analyse Progride traditionnelle, en posant des hypothèses pour les éléments incertains. Ces données sont les suivantes : remise, inflation, taux d’imposition et de change ; dates de début d’exploitation ; durée d’amortissement ; cours pétroliers, courbes de production sur le site pour le pétrole, le gaz naturel et l’eau et l’injection d’eau ; investissements tels que forage, installations de surface et collecte ; frais d’exploitation fixes et variables ; coût d’abandon.

À partir d’une telle analyse, Progride génère la VAN, le TRI et le délai de rentabilité du projet ; la meilleure date pour l’abandon du projet ; l’exposition financière de la société. Ces résultats reposent toutefois sur des valeurs hypothétiques des données d’entrée qui sont supposées 100 % certaines. Le risque n’est donc pas pris en compte.

Analyse du risque dans Progride
Pour une analyse du risque dans Progride, les analystes doivent élaborer des distributions pour représenter des plages de possibilités pour les variables d’entrée clés. Elles comprennent : courbes probabilistes de production sur le site pour le pétrole, le gaz naturel et l’eau ainsi que l’injection d’eau ; capacité opérationnelle de production unitaire ; distributions pour écarts dans chaque composante de CAPEX et OPEX et distribution pour la date de début de l’exploitation.

À partir de cette analyse du risque, Progride génère la VAN probable du projet ainsi qu’un histogramme et des mesures de dispersion, ou de risque, autour de la VAN probable. Elle estime aussi la probabilité d’une VAN négative ou de perdre de l’argent sur le projet.

Limitations de Progride
Aussi utile que Progride puisse être pour Petrobras, le système comporte un certain nombre de limites importantes qui ont amené la société à s’intéresser à @RISK. D’une part, l’analyse du risque effectuée par Progride n'offre pas à l’utilisateur un accès aux données de simulation, ce qui empêche les analystes d’étudier de plus près différents scénarios probabilistes. En outre, Progride ne peut pas traiter efficacement des projets plus complexes, comme ceux exécutés en partenariat avec d’autres sociétés, des projets partageant une infrastructure commune ou des projets intégrés à de multiples concessions.

Pour illustrer l’effet de ces limitations, considérons un projet de développement intégré à la production de deux concessions ou sites distincts. Petrobras investit dans une unité unique de production partagée de pétrole pour les deux concessions : c’est un investissement partagé. Toutefois, la société doit traiter chaque concession individuellement pour l’Agence nationale du pétrole (ANP) brésilienne pour les besoins du loyer, des redevances et de la R&D. Voir Figure 1.


Figure 1

Dans une telle situation, l'analyse du risque doit impérativement être effectuée sur le projet intégré dans son ensemble. Il existe des facteurs de risque que partagent les deux concessions, comme le prix et les investissements. Il existe aussi des facteurs de risque indépendants, comme les dates de début de la production et du projet. Certains coûts devraient toutefois être traités individuellement pour chaque concession, comme le loyer, les redevances et la R&D. Certains types d’amortissements (sur les puits, par exemples) doivent aussi être calculés pour chaque concession. Des projets concernant plusieurs concessions sont relativement courants, mais Progride ne peut pas les analyser sans tourner pendant des milliers d’heures, ce qui est peu pratique et potentiellement inexact.

La solution @RISK-Progride
Pour résoudre ce problème, Petrobras E&P a fait appel à @RISK. Rafael Hartke, qui dirige la planification financière et la gestion du risque pour les opérations d’investissement de Petrobras, a mis au point une méthode pour intégrer @RISK à Progride, le tout sous Excel. Ce système lui permet d’effectuer une évaluation exacte et complète d’une plateforme de production à concessions multiples et de gagner un temps d’exécution considérable.

Pour le projet concernant plusieurs concessions, la société élabore trois analyses Progride distinctes : un pour la concession A, une pour la concession B et une pour le projet intégré A+B. Ensuite, les analystes modélisent des scénarios probabilistes dans @RISK pour les facteurs de risque communs (prix, écarts par rapport aux investissements, par ex.) et les risques indépendants (production et dates de début d’exploitation, par ex.) pour chaque concession. Une analyse Progride traditionnelle est effectuée pour chaque concession individuellement, en utilisant des scénarios probabilistes générés par @RISK comme donnée d’entrée. Cette analyse est effectuée pendant l’exécution d’@RISK en faisant appel à une macro qui exécute Progride pendant la simulation @RISK. Les résultats de ces deux analyses traditionnelles de concession constituent le scénario probabiliste pour chacune d’elles (par ex. production, recettes, CAPEX, OPEX, charge fiscale et amortissement). Voir Figures 2 et 3.


Figure 2


Figure 3

Ces résultats pour chaque concession sont ensuite additionnés pour déterminer les scénarios probabilistes pour le projet intégré dans son ensemble (A+B). Ensuite, une analyse Progride traditionnelle est exécutée sur le projet intégré dans @RISK, en utilisant les scénarios probabilistes combinés comme données d'entrée. Les indicateurs de risque souhaités pour le projet entier sont ensuite calculés à partir des résultats de l’analyse. Voir la figure 4.


Figure 4

Aussi facile que 3-2-1

Le processus @RISK-Progride peut être récapitulé en 3 étapes, 2 fonctions et 1 macro.

Les 3 étapes du processus sont :

  1. Utiliser @RISK pour modéliser et générer des scénarios probabilistes pour les facteurs de risque partagés et indépendants.
  2. Lier les scénarios probabilistes générés dans @RISK aux données d’entrée de l’analyse traditionnelle Progride de chaque concession à l’aide des fonctions Offset d’Excel et RiskCurrentIter d’@RISK.
  3. Exécuter chaque analyse traditionnelle Progride individuellement dans @RISK, en invoquant la macro qui exécute l’analyse traditionnelle Progride après chaque itération d’@RISK.

Les deux principales fonctions utilisées pour accomplir l’intégration entre @RISK et Progride sont :

  1. RiskCurrentIter() : C’est une fonction statistique d’@RISK qui génère la valeur de l’itération en cours de la simulation pendant son exécution.
  2. Offset (réf. cellule, lignes, colonnes) : Il s’agit d’une fonction d’Excel qui génère la valeur d’une cellule située à un nombre spécifié de lignes et de colonnes d'une référence de cellule particulière.

Enfin, une seule macro est nécessaire dans ce processus. @RISK est paramétré pour exécuter cette macro Excel après chaque nouveau calcul d’itération pendant une simulation. La macro exécute simplement Progride et contient le code : SendKeys "%PX", True

Avantages de la solution @RISK-Progride
La solution intégrée de Petrobras confère à la société un certain nombre d’avantages de grande valeur. Premièrement, elle permet la séparation de scénarios probabilistes pour des facteurs de risque partagés communs aux projets analysés. Deuxièmement, l’utilisation d’@RISK permet d’analyser des projets entrepris avec des partenaires. De manière similaire à l’exemple qui précède, une analyse Progride distincte est exécutée pour chaque partenaire, qui traite les aspects fiscaux individuellement mais met en commun les facteurs de risque du projet. Troisièmement, comme nous venons de le voir, cette approche permet l’analyse de projets intégrés dans plusieurs concessions, avec une analyse Progride distincte pour chaque concession, qui traite les aspects fiscaux et d’amortissement individuellement tout en partageant les facteurs de risque du projet. De même, des projets qui partagent des infrastructures avec d’autres projets ou concessions distincts peuvent désormais aussi être modélisés de la même manière. Enfin, @RISK aide Petrobras à réduire à une seule journée de calcul des projections qui prenait auparavant des milliers d’heures. Si vous multipliez les heures économisées par la rémunération du personnel, vous verrez que les économies réalisées sont énormes.

» Integration of Corporate Systems and Risk Analysis
    with @RISK (Intégration des systèmes d’entreprise et
    d’analyse du risque avec @RISK), Rafael Hartke,
    Petrobras. Discours à la conférence Palisade au Brésil,
    novembre 2009

»
@RISK
» Petrobras



Palisade Corporation
798 Cascadilla Street
Ithaca, NY 14850-3239
800 432 RISK (US/Can)
+1 607 277 8000
+1 607 277 8001 fax
sales@palisade.com
Palisade EMEA & India
+44 1895 425050 salesEMEA@palisade.com
salesIndia@palisade.com
Palisade Asia-Pacific
+61 2 9252 5922
salesAP@palisade.com
Palisade アジア・
パシフィック東京事務所
+81 3 5456 5287 tel
sales.jp@palisade.com
www.palisade.com/jp/
Palisade Latinoamérica
+1 607 277 8000 x318
+54-1152528795  Argentina
+56-25813492 Chile
+507-8365675 Panamá
+52 55 5350 2852 México
+511-7086781 Perú
+57-15085187 Colombia
servicioalcliente@palisade.com
ventas@palisade.com
www.palisade-lta.com
Palisade Brasil
+55 (21) 3958 1443
+1 607 277 8000 x318 tel
vendas@palisade.com
www.palisade-br.com

Customers & Industries: Petrobras

Petrobras Uses @RISK for E&P Analysis

  • Industry: Oil/Gas/Energy
  • Product(s): @RISK
  • Application: Exploration & Production

Summary

To evaluate risks such as O&G production, derivatives, commodities, and operating expenditures, the Exploration and Production (E&P) section of Petrobras developed an in-house system for corporate-wide use called Progride. To get around limitations within Progride and handle risk analysis on integrated projects as a whole, Petrobras integrated @RISK and Progride within Excel.

@RISK helps Petrobras reduce the calculation time for projections that used to take thousands of hours to a single day. If you multiply the saved hours by staff pay rates, you can get a pretty good picture of some huge cost savings.

The Challenge

In terms of its market value, Petrobras, the Brazilian oil producer and refinery operator, is the eighth largest global company in the world. Its investments amount to more than $53 billion, and these include more than thirteen thousand productive oil and gas wells and 112 production platforms.

Recently the company implemented a corporate-wide protocol for evaluating the economic risks associated with potential investments. Key risks of interest to Petrobras include those associated with: the production of oil and natural gas; the demand for derivatives; the prices of various commodities; the start dates for various operations; and changes in company capital (CAPEX) and operating (OPEX) expenditures. In performing analysis of these risks, Petrobras looks to several key indicators: expected NPV; the standard deviation of NPV to get a sense of the risk associated with the reward; the probability of a negative NPV, or of losing money; and the 95% Value at Risk (VAR) of the NPV, which is the minimum amount that Petrobras stands a 5% chance of losing.

Petrobras’s Progride System

To evaluate these risks, the Exploration and Production (E & P) section of Petrobras developed an in-house system for corporate-wide use called Progride. Progride is based in Excel and uses customized C++ subroutines to perform it analyses. The company uses it to model a variety of E & P applications, including: oil trends like prices and spreads; income taxes and royalties; depreciation, residual value, and economic life of a project; sensitivity analysis; and other internal economic indicators. Progride also has risk analysis capabilities.

The system is capable of handling complexities such as multiple dependent projects (i.e. a base project plus complementary projects) within the same geographic site or “concession.” A concession represents the right for Petrobras to drill in a specific area, and typically carries with it obligations of rent, tax, and royalty payments. Proglide can also manage anticipated future production projects as well as projects that reduce operating expenses (i.e. have “negative” future operating expense).

Conventional Progride Analysis

E & P analysts at Petrobras enter a variety of data to run a conventional Progride analysis, making assumptions for what is uncertain. These data include: discount, inflation, tax and exchange rates; operation start dates; depreciation time; oil prices; production curves at the site for oil, natural gas, and water as well as water injection; capital expenditures such as drilling, surface installations, and collection; fixed and variable operating costs; and the cost of abandonment.

From such an analysis, Progride returns the NPV, IRR, and project return time; the best date for project abandonment; and the financial exposure to the company. However these results are based on best-guess point values in the input data that are assumed to be 100% certain. Thus risk is not taken into account.

Risk Analysis in Progride

For a risk analysis in Progride, analysts must construct distributions to represent ranges of possibilities for key input variables. These include: probabilistic production curves at the site for oil, natural gas, and water as well as water injection; unit production operational capacity; distributions for deviations in each CAPEX and OPEX component; and a distribution for the operation’s start date.

From this risk analysis, Progride provides the expected NPV of the project along with a histogram and measures of dispersion, or risk, around the expected NPV. It also estimates the probability of a negative NPV, or of losing money on the project.

Limitations of Progride

As useful as Progride is to Petrobras, it has a number of significant limitations that led the company to look to @RISK. For one, Progride’s risk analysis does not provide user access to the simulation data, preventing analysts from getting a closer look at different probabilistic scenarios. Furthermore, Progride cannot effectively handle more complex projects, such as those done in partnership with other companies, projects that share common infrastructure, or integrated projects with multiple concessions.

Figure 1

To illustrate the effect of these limitations, consider an integrated development project with production from two concessions, or specific sites. Petrobras invests in a single shared production oil flow unit to handle both concessions – a shared CAPEX. However, the company must treat each concession individually for Brazil’s National Petroleum Agency (ANP) for purposes such as area rent, royalties, and R&D. See Figure 1.

In such a situation, risk analysis must be done on the integrated project as a whole. There are risk factors shared by both of the concessions, such as prices and CAPEX. And, there are independent risk factors, such as production and project start dates. However, some costs should be treated individually for each concession, like area rent, royalties, and R&D. Certain types of depreciation (on wells, for instance) should also be calculated for each concession as well. Multiple-concession projects are fairly common, yet Progride cannot analyze them without running for thousands of hours – an impractical, and potentially inaccurate, prospect.

Figure 2

Figure 3

Figure 4

The @RISK-Progride Solution

To address this problem, Petrobras E&P brought in @RISK. Rafael Hartke, who heads up financial planning and risk management for Petrobras’s investment operations, has developed a method to integrate @RISK with Progride, all in Excel. This system allows him to make an accurate and comprehensive assessment of a production platform with multiple concessions—and to save a huge amount of run time.

For the multiple concession project described above, the company sets up three separate Progride analyses – one for concession A, one for concession B, and one for the integrated project A+B. Then, analysts model probabilistic scenarios in @RISK for both the shared risk factors (prices, CAPEX deviations, e.g.) and the independent risks (production and start dates of operation, e.g.) for each concession. A conventional Progride analysis is performed for each concession individually, using the probabilistic scenarios generated by @RISK as input data. This analysis is performed while running @RISK by calling a macro that runs Progride during the @RISK simulation. The results of these two conventional concession analyses form the probabilistic scenario for each (e.g. production, revenue, CAPEX, OPEX, fiscal costs, and depreciation). See Figures 2 and 3.

These individual concession results are then summed together to determine the probabilistic scenarios for the integrated project as a whole (A+B). Next, a conventional Progride analysis is performed on the integrated project in @RISK using the combined probabilistic scenarios as entry data. Desired risk indicators for the entire project are then calculated from the analysis results. See Figure 4.

Easy as 3-2-1

The @RISK-Progride process can be summed up in 3 stages, 2 functions, and 1 macro.

The 3 stages of the process are:

1. Use @RISK to model and generate probabilistic scenarios for the shared and independent risk factors.
2. Link the probabilistic scenarios generated in @RISK to the input data of each concession’s conventional Progride analysis using the Excel’s Offset and @RISK’s RiskCurrentIter functions.
3. Execute each Prograde conventional analysis individually in @RISK, calling the macro which executes the Progride conventional analysis after each @RISK iteration.

The two primary functions used to accomplish the integration between @RISK and Progride are:

1. RiskCurrentIter(): This is an @RISK Statistics function which returns the value of the current iteration of the simulation while running.
2. Offset(cell ref, rows, columns): This is an Excel function which returns the value of a cell located a specified number of rows and columns from a particular cell reference.

Finally, there is only one macro needed in the process. @RISK is set to run this Excel macro after each iteration recalculation during a simulation. The macro simply runs Progride and contains the code: SendKeys "%PX", True

Benefits of the @RISK-Progride Solution

Petrobras’s integrated solution gives the company a number of valuable benefits. First, it permits the separation of probabilistic scenarios for shared risk factors common to the projects being analyzed. Second, the use of @RISK allows the analysis of projects undertaken with partners. Similar to the above example, a separate Progride analysis is done for each partner, treating the fiscal aspects individually, but sharing the project risk factors. Third, as we’ve just seen, this approach enables the analysis of integrated projects with multiple concessions, with a separate Progride analysis for each concession that treats the fiscal and depreciation aspects individually while sharing project risk factors. Similarly, projects that share infrastructure with other, separate projects or concessions can now also be modeled in the same manner. Lastly, @RISK helps Petrobras reduce the calculation time for projections that used to take thousands of hours to a single day. If you multiply the saved hours by staff pay rates, you can get a pretty good picture of some huge cost savings.

Have Questions? Talk with us.

Contact Us